The company was founded by James Henry Oldershaw in 1846. After finishing his apprenticeship, he started a contracting business, and operated two lime kilns. He eventually discontinued the lime kilns in favor of committing the company to the retail sale of cement, plaster, sand, and window sills at 229 King Street W.
In the early 1900's the company became known as J. & J. Oldershaw Building Products, and later became known as J. & A. Oldershaw Building Products. In 1934, Burville Oldershaw's son Don, and cousin Maurice, took over the company and guided it through the harsh economic times of the Great Depression.
In 1962, Maurice's son Blake, who has over 35 years of experience in the business took control of the family business and has made several changes to the firm since then. The company operated on Colborne Street for several years and in 1991, Blake moved the firm to it's new location at 20 McGregor Place.
The company employs 8 workers and specializes in drywall products. The company has recently expanded it's product line to include interior wood doors and trim, hardware, paints, acoustical ceilings, steel doors and frames and steel framing material.
The company's reputation has grown by "word of mouth" and it's dedicated service to the public.